top of page

Life Sized Retro Re-do

Updated: Jun 11, 2022

I've been having so much fun decorating my new pad that I thought I would start sharing some of my ideas for decorating my own life sized mod pod.


This weekend's project was painting an accent wall in my entry way. I had a super cool retro stenciled wall in my old kitchen and I wanted do the same pattern for my new place.

Unfortunately, I couldn't find anything like it. I decided to give an old stencil that I bought a long time ago a try. I had it stored in my attic work room which got pretty hot in the summertime and the stencil plastic warped. Me being the kind of person who likes immediate results, I decided to use it anyway.

I thought that maybe I could flatten it out with some heat....nope.




First I had painted the wall white. I sprayed the back of the stencil with repositionable spray adhesive and stuck it to the right edge of the wall... It was a little bubbled, but I decided to go ahead anyway knowing that I would have some paint bleed and would have a little correcting to do.


Now for my little rant about Sherwin Williams paint: In many years of painting, I have learned that it does pay to buy good paint. For small projects, I usually just buy their sample quarts for $6.00. This time I decided to get a gallon of the color in something that has good coverage. I bought two colors, white and dark blue...the bill came to $154.00! WTF? That was the SALE price! I just started laughing and said Wow! This better be really good paint! The nice lady at the store said she almost guarantees one coat coverage....


Um...does that look like one coat coverage?



Nope, three coats! If anyone has done any stenciling, you know that multiple coats means paint build up on the edges of the stencil. (I had to throw in a pic of Penny, she's the best supervisor)



Believe me...There was A LOT of paint bleed and A LOT of correcting to do.

I also didn't measure to make sure the pattern would be centered. I can sand the wall down and starting completely over Or just fix it. I to fix it knowing that I would likey be the only one who noticed. I tried painters painter's tape to straighten up the lines....which of course bled back under the tape the other direction.



I decided to go ahead and finish the wall. I cut the stencil up to easily get the edges and the bottom 6 inches of the wall.








Huzzah! I finished it! I think it still looks very cool!


Lessons Learned from this project...


Measure and center your stencil

Use a nice fresh flat stencil

Never, I repeat NEVER buy Sherwin Williams Emerald paint again.


Was it worth it? Yes!







5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Synchronicities and Starting Over

Well...it's been a long time since I 've blogged let alone blogged on this platform.  Anyway, To update you on my miniature journey, I quit my full time job to be a miniaturist.  I'm terrified to do t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page